Crew · Vibrating shuttle

True stitches

Veritas was a Roman goddess of truth. She was believed to be hiding on the bottom of a holy well, as she was so elusive. The world hasn’t changed! 😉

This beauty is by Clemens Müller of Dresden, Germany, from around 1910. Established in 1855, Clemens Müller was one of the oldest, if not the oldest sewing machine manufacturer in Germany.

This machine is a VS2, that is, a full sized vibrating shuttle machine based on Singer 127K, but with reverse. This was obviously in a treadle, but the previous owners made this neat wooden base for it. It came all oiled up, in a perfect working condition and with a jeans needle. I can just picture it: the modern plastic wonder choked on jeans, so they got out their grandma’s old friend, and of course the job was done in no time. 🙂

So no restoration required here, but I shall varnish it as I usually do, simply because shellac does not last a hundred years, and the original varnish started cracking and crumbling in places. We want to preserve those amazing decals!

The Müller hinges are not the same as those of Singer, so although Veritas is of right size, it doesn’t fit into my standard plastic cases that go into a cut-out in my sewing table. But that’s Ok. For now, I’ll just use it as a table top machine, and if I really feel that it needs to fit into that cut-out, I’m sure I’ll think of something. :-)​

So, first up it’s varnishing, then motor, then sewing!

6 thoughts on “True stitches

  1. That is a beauty! I wish you lived in my town and I could bring my vintage Singer over for your advice (especially since following your blog likely led to my purchase). A friend did connect me with a restoration person who can check it out for safety and advise me.

    Like

    1. Yes, I agree, posting it to the UK and back may not be very wise. 😉
      But what do you mean “for safety”? Your Singer is a hand-crank, isn’t it, so there are no electrics that could have become unsafe. I don’t see how a mechanical machine can be unsafe?
      Of course it is still a good idea to check it over to make sure the mechanism is working properly. It probably also needs cleaning and oiling with fresh oil, but that’s just regular maintenance. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah my antique Singer is actually electric powered! It has a very old style cord – I plugged it in and it runs but my friend warned me I should have it checked out for safety. And yes definitely some cleaning and oiling. You already shared with me how to replace my 1/2 missing bobbin cover but I need a professional to evaluate the machine 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, since it is electric, then of course it needs checking! Is the motor as old as the machine (1910, was it?), or is it a later addition? Here most motors are from 1950s as a lot of hand-cranks and treadles were modernised then. The old motors are usually still fine, the basic design didn’t change much since, but the wiring and the pedals often need replacing. Also, I prefer modern electronic pedals – they are much lighter going and do exactly the same thing! You can have it wired in with the old motor, or even replace the motor. However, check the power of the motor (written either in Watts or in Amps, or may be even in HP – horse power!) – old motors are often more powerful than “standard domestic” modern ones.
        Yes, the machine definitely needs a good service round before use. After all, it has probably been stored somewhere for a long time!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah! It was probably a treadle originally, just like what we see here, then they put it into a case and added a motor. 🙂 I think even Singer themselves did such work, or otherwise any repairman could do it. Electricity was popular. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

