Comparisons and overviews · Textima

An unexpected grace

When I got my Textima Veritas, it was mostly for sentimental reasons – it was exactly the same model that I grew up with. I knew it was a good machine, but it’s been too long ago since I used it to draw a comparison with the other machines in my sewing room. So after a round of service, I decided to use it on several different projects and see how it does.

I knew it would work well enough, but I was surprised on every turn. This modest looking machine has entirely unexpected graces.

I started with samples and ran out of scraps of all kinds and still didn’t find one it would not be able to sew beautifully without skipping stitches. It made a flexible stitch on jersey and a smooth stitch on crêpe, without pulling. It went through denim and leather and all I had to change was the needle. It made lovely satin stitch embroidery and perfectly balanced zig-zag.

I was only a child and not much of a seamstress back in 1970s, but my mother made all sorts of things with our old machine, and never ran into trouble. I don’t remember her complaining about skipped stitches or pulled up seams or not being able to sew denim. She let me use the machine because she was sure I couldn’t break it! Well, not so badly anyway that my father wouldn’t be able to fix. And actually, I don’t remember struggling with the machine either… Plenty of memories of botched up sewing projects, bit it wasn’t the machine’s fault. 😉 Got told off by grandma once for doing machine embroidery instead of hand embroidery (that’s cheating!), but not because the result was poor – quite on the contrary.

And now I am quite taken aback. Textima Veritas 8014/35 has so far superceded every other machine in my sewing room in its versatility and its steady stitching. Yes, it is even better than Adler 87 – Adler doesn’t like crêpe and loose woven chiffon, the seam pulls. Textima Veritas is better than Haid & Neu Primatic because Haid & Neu doesn’t do jersey – the seam isn’t flexible enough. It’s an easy win on jersey because round bobbin machines are generally not great on flexible seams. Except for Textima Veritas.

My other Veritas is Clemens Müller’s VS2 – a long bobbin machine, a vibrating shuttle. She makes a superbly flexible stitch, but of course she is straight stitch only. For the finest of jersey I am still back with Jones Family TS – unless I find a way to tune Textima Veritas to sew it properly too…

I have several more projects lined up to try with Textima Veritas. Most of them combine several different fabrics, which is the hardest thing to do properly. There’s also a fine jersey blouse among them, let’s see how that goes – Jones TS is standing by at the rescue, if needed. 😁 But so far, I am surprised, perplexed and confused – I am about to loose justification for having a room full of machines! 😲 Is it time to panic yet? 😆

5 thoughts on “An unexpected grace

  1. Very interesting too see here this workhorse of Czech households reviewed alongside Western and Japanese machines! Thank you! Have you perhaps encountered the other machines that were common in the Soviet block, i.e. the Polish Lucznik 4xx series, the Russian Chayka 142, or the Yugoslavian Visnja Bagat 706 – a license built Necchi Supernova Julia?

    Like

    1. Sorry, I was too young when I left. I only knew that one machine that we had at home. My grandmother had an electric machine from just after the war but she didn’t allow me to touch it. 😉

      Like

      1. Wow! When did they start manufacturing electric sewing machines? Right after the war?

        Like

    2. I could not have said better!
      All the forums and YouTube channels dedicated to vintage sewing machines in Russian are full with reviews and videos on how good and cool East German Veritas still are.

      I do hope that a renewed brand Veritas now is a good heir. Moreover, they are positioning it now as a “quality brand”‘ 5 years of warranty (3 years officially and 2 more years if you get your machine registered on their website within 6 months after the purchase). I wonder how it works, though )))

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.